Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Horror Short Stories in a Song Part II

sarahAs we get close to Halloween I thought you might like some music for the season. This is my second post on the subject of songs that are full blown horror stories.  I wanted tunes that for the most part told a story, not just songs that have a scary varnish to it.

Angie Baby by Helen Reddy. Listen to the words on this one. It reads more like a Twilight Zone song than I am Woman. I mean let’s face it this song is downright creepy. A different child who grows up with powers and a sleazy neighbor boy that gets his just desserts, it’s a classic horror story.

I want to thank Brian Bixby for letting me know about this eerie gem. Check out his non  silly blog Silly History.

https://sillyhistory.com/

Timothy by The Buoys. Have you ever thought. “Gee I wonder what it would sound like if Edgar Allen Poe wrote 70’s folk rock?” Well check this one out. Like all good scary folk music it is scary because it could be true. It is a song about the demons that are trapped inside all human beings and what might let them out.

This one was recommended to me by M.C. Tuggle check out his awesome blog here https://mctuggle.com/about/

Blink By Chameleon Circuit.  For what is arguably family fare Dr. Who can be really scary. And one of the scariest aliens in the show are the Weeping Angles. I get that Blink was a ship in the bottle episode (An episode with little special effects and limited appearance by the stars to save money) but man it was some scary TV. The band Chameleon Circuit has a whole album about Dr. Who, but this is my favorite song of theirs and I love this animated video.

I was turned on to Chameleon Circuit by Blogger Posey51 and I am eternally grateful. Posy51 can be found here https://posey51blog.wordpress.com/2016/10/15/nanowrimo-2016-count-me-in/

Rock & Roll Sweetheart by The Creepshow. The Crepshow in all it incarnations is a DCotU fav, but I especially love it when it Sarah “Sin” Blackwood was at the helm, she really pushed the punk ethos of the band.  Before she became a money making folksie, fronting Walk Off the Earth, she had some really eerie songs. You wonder if these words about a musical succubus are symbolic or are they to be taken literally. I also can’t help wonder little sister Sin based the demon on herself.

Evil Night Together by Jill Tracy. We really need more horror short stories with female leads in them. Other than a few vampire stories (Like Le fanu’s Carmella)  the only one that really jumps out at me is Helen Vaughn in Arthurs Machen’s The Great God Pan. But here Jill Tracy gives us a  distaff counterpart to Hannibal Lector, sexy, evil and oh so dangerous. I also love who this is sung is  cabaret style.

Going to Hell by Pretty Reckless. OK maybe I kind of stretched the rules on this one. But this song sung by the girl who once plaid Cindy Who on the Grinch Who Stole Christmas, seems pretty scary to me. Taylor Momsen is the gold standard of today’s rock and roll bad girl. Strutting on the stage like a panther, starting her songs with a fake orgasm and wearing an “I F*** for Satan” tee-shirt. But knowing her back story I think the persona might just be cheaper than therapy. Still I can see this song about how the “good Girl” was corrupted to the “evil woman.”  Maybe a younger wicked Thelma to the older demonic Louise in the above Jill Tracy song.

cindy-who

Cindy Who grew up.

Bring me to Life by Everessence. Everyone who heard this song heard something different. Christians thought it was a song about Jesus, and it sold like hot cakes in Christian Book stores until the band said “WTF?” Vampire lovers thought it was about a vampire. To me this song has a strong gothic tone in both the lyrics and words. To me it always had a strong Halloween vibe.

Red Right Hand by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. Nick has said this song is about an evil demonic man pretending to be a good person, but to me it will always be associated with Hell Boy. That why I love this video it is the perfect combination of both the song and the movie.

Nature Trail to Hell in 3D by Weird Al Yankovich. Halloween is supposed to be fun, and who is better at bring on the fun, that Weird Al himself. So i’ll leave you with this satire of the slasher movie.

6 comments on “Horror Short Stories in a Song Part II

  1. Brian Bixby
    October 29, 2016

    Thanks for the mention and the link. I do fiction as well as history, Dave, so here’s a link to my Halloween 2014 horror story:
    https://sillyverse.com/short-stories/death-and-professor-appleton/

    And because you deserve another Halloween song, let me add Redbone’s “Witch Queen of New Orleans”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIKCIwy6WUk

    • davekheath
      October 29, 2016

      Good call on Redbone. Looking forward to reading your Halloween story.

  2. Dennis the Vizsla
    October 29, 2016

    hello davekheath its dennis the vizsla dog hay wot??? an album abowt doctor who??? how is it posibul that my dada duz not hav this album??? oh and aparently he is a big fan of the pretty reckless but i dont no they sownd rather reckless to me!!! ha ha ok bye

    • davekheath
      October 29, 2016

      If he has Spotify, the Chameleon Circuit album is on it. If not all the songs are on You Tube.

  3. vinnieh
    October 30, 2016

    I must say, your blog is very cool.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
