Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Geek Obsura: Welcome to Night Vale.

welcome logo

 

For someone who has a blog, I am basically a Luddite. I use the minimum technology that I can and still do the things I want. That goes for podcast, sure I am interested in Serial but wish they broadcast it on PBR, rather than just do it as a podcast. But finally I have found something interests me more than my dislike for this whole podcast-thingy. That is the serially wonderful show Welcome to Night vale. The popular show has had over a million hits of its podcast.

 

I had heard about Night Vale and liked what I had heard. But still I couldn’t get over my, objection to new technologies. But I found a way around that, Night Vale is available on You Tube. I often listen to it when I cook, or sometimes I my room, when I don’t to listen to music but doing something else like cleaning or working on a writing project and want something in the background but don’t want to actually watch something.

 

real cecil

The Real Cecil Baldwin

The premise is that somewhere in New Mexico, there is a city where all conspiracy theories are true. Cut off from the rest of reality by some reason that is never quite explained, the show is a local radio show named Cecil voiced by Cecil Baldwin. He is at least a hundred years old claiming to have been born before the advent of radio. He is the city of Night Vale’s voice, apologist and sometimes sly rebel. Who writes Jaws slash fan fic. He is also snarky and has no problems using his radio show as a vehicle of decrying people he doesn’t like.

 

fan art

Fan art of Cecil The radio Host.

Weird surreal things happen in Night Vale like a jet airliner disappearing from the sky and momentarily appeared in the NVHS gym apparently as a prank by a rival school to disrupt the school’s basketball practice. The local used sporting goods store is actually a front for the One World Government, this is concluded by the amount of black helicopters that land on its heliopad, as well as the fact it has a secret black helicopter heliopad. The librarians of Night vale are clocked tentacle figures with spatial coming out if their mouth.

 

Here is a direct quote about the NV dog park. Citizens are not even supposed to be consciously aware of the dog park, so they could not possibly be receiving a menacing and unearthly voice instructing listeners to bring precious metals and toddlers to the dog park! DOG PARK, that could NEVER, EVER BE REAL.

 

NightValeCondos

Is this a goat thing?

The show is as wacky and surreal as the town. When Cecil talks about traffic they become quirky philosophical rants. Commercials become tirades about the darkness insignificance of life, then it is announced that it brought to you be a real world corporation. And the weather is actually a musical number.

 

Recently WtNV is branching out, they are doing live shows, there is now a book, and Night Vale creators Joseph Fink and Jeffery Cranor are starting a new show called Alice Isn’t Dead, it is the show about a female trucker who travels to weird places, looking for her missing wife who was reportedly dead. It is basic taking Night Vale on the road.

 

tumblr_o1bdgk7Q1E1qivpzxo1_1280

A new show.

So check out Welcome to night Vale on your podcast thingy or You Tube, The Sheriff’s Secret Police would approve.

3 comments on “Geek Obsura: Welcome to Night Vale.

  1. Parlor of Horror
    January 25, 2016

    It strikes me that podcasts these days are almost like radio shows in the 1930’s – 40’s. There are various formats, degrees of professionalism and subject matter. I have not found any particular one that has made me tune in repeatedly, but it is still growing so who knows…I may become hooked on one sooner or latter.

    • davekheath
      January 26, 2016

      You know what I thought that too and just left it out when I wrote this. Back in the 80’s I lived on a boat with my family. We would go to bed a 9:00 and for the hour before I drifted of to sleep an LA station would play classic radio shows. I feel a lot like how I felt back then listening to podcasts.

      • Parlor of Horror
        January 26, 2016

        Its kinda cool because you can look at old radio shows and see what was successful then update it to fit today.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
