Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Geek Obscura: Zardoz.

zardoz head

Let me see if I can describe the movie Zardoz. There is this main character his name is Sean Connery. Well no his name is Zed. But let’s talk about Mr. Connery first. He recently finished up his second run as James Bond in the movie, Diamonds are forever, and well he wasn’t getting any work. In comes the next chaster John Boorman, who was the director/producer of the movie Deliverance. With a cred like that you make pretty anything you want, and what he wanted was to do a 1970’s version of The Lord of the Rings, well that didn’t work out, so a consolation prize he came up with a movie called Zardoz.

In 1974, he got a million dollars to make his private movie project. He hired Burt Reynolds to play the main charchter but Mr. Reynolds got sick. So he shopped around and found a bargain Sean Connery for only 200,000 dollars US (this was a fifth of the movies budget but still a deal). Money was tight for the movie and Sean, so Boorman cut a deal, Connery would drive himself to work and get half of what they would pay a studio driver normally.

OK so that is about the actor and writer/producer/director tell me about the movie. Sure, there is this flying stone head that spits out guns to post apoplectic barbarians. Then Sean or I mean Zed shows up he is wearing speedos, suspenders, has a 70’s moustache and a ponytail, and he wields an old Webley automatic-revolver. And there is an elite society who is genetically manipulating the barbarians, and fly around in this stone head, obligatory sex scene, there was some baboons, (that bit an actor who was wearing an ape suit off camera) that do something, oh and did I tell you about Sean Connery wearing speedos, suspenders, has a 70’s moustache and a ponytail, and he wields an old Webley automatic-revolver.

sean

The movie is part science fiction, part acid trip, part snappy dialogue, part philosophical essay. But it is most famous for his flying stone head and Connery wearing speedos, suspenders, has a 70’s mustache and a ponytail. Well he does top that in a scene he wears a wedding dress. Yes you read that right 007 wearing a wedding dress. The only thing less legendary of Connery wearing a dress, is the legendary uncomfortableness wearing the dress.

dress

It is more a series of scenes cemented together with cleaver dialog than a movie. The plot is pretty much explained in the open soliloquy, which was added because the studio was afraid that the movie might not make sense to viewers if it was left out

poster

I am Arthur Frayn, and I am Zardoz. I have lived three hundred years, and I long to die. But death is no longer possible. I am immortal. I present now my story, full of mystery and intrigue – rich in irony, and most satirical. It is set deep in a possible future, so none of these events have yet occurred, but they *may.* Be warned, lest you end as I. In this tale, I am a fake god by occupation – and a magician, by inclination. Merlin is *my* hero! I am the puppet master. I manipulate many of the characters and events you will see. But *I* am invented, too, for your entertainment – and amusement. And you, poor creatures, who conjured *you* out of the clay? Is God in show business too?

index horse

That it you now know all about the plot that you need to know. But if you are   looking for a trippy movie check out Zardoz, need another reason to see this movie uh did we mention Sean Connery wearing speedos, suspenders, has a 70’s mustache and a ponytail.

7 comments on “Geek Obscura: Zardoz.

  1. WooLongTalks
    September 28, 2015

    Ha! I thought I was the only one that remembered this film!

    • davekheath
      September 28, 2015

      I have a few people tell me that they thought it was their secret treasure when I posted that.

  2. mitchteemley
    September 28, 2015

    Haven’t seen the movie in years, but, yes, as I recall, trippy is the word for it!

  3. Jeff Japp
    September 29, 2015

    I still think of this movie every time I hear Beethoven’s 7th.

    • davekheath
      September 30, 2015

      Yup or see Sean Connery or someone in a speedo.

  4. Brian Bixby
    October 3, 2015

    You can tell this movie’s from the late 1960s or early 1970s by the casually blatant nudity and sex. Things have become so much more stylized since then.
    Oh, and we watched this on one of our “Bad Movie Nights.” It was considered the “winner.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2015 by in geek, Movies, sean connery, wied.
