Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Geeky Things that I am not Really Interested in.

n There are many cool things out in the world of geekdom today. And what you like doesn’t have to be what I like. If you take the things you really geek out on and combine them together I call it your geek fingerprint. What does your geek fingerprint look like? Mine is Star Wars-Table Top Gaming-The Fourth Doctor-History-Classic Sci Fi Lit-Writing-Indy Comic Books-Lovecraft.

finger print

What does your geek fingerprint look like?

Now there is a long list of things that I like and are interested in but just not passionate about. This includes things like Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, Archer, Zombies, Astronomy, Noir Fiction, Spi-Fi, Forensic TV shows, Cyberpunk, and Fantastic Art. There are also things in the geek world, I just don’t care about. I don’t hate them I just don’t care one way or another. Now there is a good chance that these may be one of your passions. That’s cool, I am not bagging on what you love. It just doesn’t move me. The geek world is big enough we don’t have to all like the same things. So here is the list of 5 things I am just not into. Game of Thrones: I feel that I am the only geek in the world who isn’t a big fan of GoT. People ask me if I am against fantasy, not particularly. And I love author George RR Martin’s superhero opus Wild Cards. And yes they do have some of the best and hottest looking actors and actresses in the biz. I just didn’t get into these books and the show.

th

To popular for me.

By now it is just to mainstream for me. And why watch it I know all the plot twists. The Red Wedding, the death of Edward Stark, and something to do with a white-headed chick combing out a fire pyre with baby dragons.

sexy santa clause

Kind of liek a sexy Santa Clause.

I also don’t have easy access to HBO, but even when I did I didn’t watch the show. Now with the constant accusations of misogyny and the over use of the rape as drama trope, I am unlikely to tune in even if I do have access to the show. Playing Video Games: I just can’t get into video games, at least not as a player. It comes down to the fact I have such low hand eye coordination that I always make my dude walk into the wall. I do not have the time I would need to invest in games. Now I can watch my children play games for hours but I just don’t get into them myself. I also love computer games as pop culture. I have all 50 original Tomb Raider Comics. And I love a random “The cake is a lie” or “All your bases are belong to us.” Reference as the next guy. But I just can’t play games. pong When I was thirteen my parents bought me a Radio Shack pong clone. I was overjoyed, but the conceal required 4 C batteries. But when I played the batteries out, I never thought it was worth it to pay for new ones out of my poultry alliance money. So after the initial batteries died I never played it again. So I was doomed as a gamer form the beginning.

regular06_cover02a

Easier to turn the pages of a comic book, than play a video game.

Jurassic World: I loved Jurassic Park, I got the book the first week it was in paperback, and saw the movie the first weekend at Universal City Walk, and I am a fan. I just can’t get into the new movie. Maybe it was because of two disappointing sequels, but it interests me just as much as watching grass grow. park Even Star Lord as the movie’s lead, doesn’t interest me. The dino effects that had me in awe in 1993 seems like old hat now. Maybe if someone I trust and respects tells me I got to see this movie, I will check it out but right now I am not planning to put it on a future Netflixs list. world Batman V Superman: The Dawn of Justice. It is difficult for me to get into DC movies. Sure the Noland trilogy was pretty good. But I didn’t see the Man of Steel and Green Lantern pretty much sucked. I just think that the ultimate Batman fighting Superman story was written by Frank Miller in The Dark Knight Returns. You will never get better than that so why try? And OK, this is going to be the lynchpin of the new DC expanded U, My response is, so?

The-Dark-Knight-Returns

When it comes to B v S- This is the first and last word.

I am not an anti Bat-fleck person. Ben Affleck did a good enough job as daredevil. (Though Charlie Cox is now embedded in my brain as the ultimate Matt Murdock) I think he will be OK as Batman. But I am not going out of my way to see him in the movie. Besides if the covers of the tabloid are right why kick the guy when his marriage is falling apart. (Jennifer Gardner if you are free next week, call me.) Superman_Batman_Logo_ Now I am going to leave a caveat to this. I might go see the movie if Jenna Malone appears as a red headed Robin. I will slap down my 9.50 (5.75 for a matinee) if she gets the role. Not only is she an awesome actress this will bring the movie closer to TDKR.

red head jena

Is this twitter photo a hint of what to come?

I also am vaguely interested in this as a lead in to The Suicide Squad. The only DCU movie I am interested in. In fact even though it is not out till 2016, this is the movie on the horizon, that I am interested in seeing the most. Even more than December’s new Star Wars movie. And with leaked SQ film of Batman, on the roof punching the Joker’s sports car, I am slightly intrigued with BvS as a prolog for a Suicide Squad franchise, but not as a standalone movie.

suicde Hq

Better than Batman?

Transformers: I have been told I should surrender my geek card, because I am not into the transformers. My dislike for Transformers goes back to my childhood. Where I saw the cartoon as a poorly drawn attempt to sell me toys. Michael Bay adding explosions and Megan Fox to it didn’t help. transformer The one thing that I liked about the original TV series was that the legendary Scattman Crothers, voicing the role of Jazz. I have been told the charterer of Jazz was reduced in the movies to a racial stereotype killed after one line. Of all the things in all the four (I think there are four Transformer movies, I am not sure) the only cool thing I think is that real life astronaut Buzz Aldrin has a conversation with an alien, Optimus Prime, OK that is a very cool scene, but the only one in an other wise too long movie.

One other badly drawn 80’s attempt to sell me toys that I love is original GI Joe, TV show. I wasn’t all that into GI Joe as a kid, and as an adult I have issues with the whole concept of an elite military unit fighting terrorist on US soil being a violation of the Passe Comitatus Act. But I began to enjoy the Joes as a young father and watching the shows again, late night staying up my sick kids. One episode in particular, the one where the captain of a battle ship joins Cobra rather than have his ship decommissioned, really had an impact on me. Then I got in to the comics, especially Max Brooks (Writer of World War Z), Hearts and Minds series.

gi joe

More than a toy add.

But Like I said the geek universe is big enough we don’t have to all like the same things. So feel free to try to change my mind to share the stuff you are not really excited about.

23 comments on “Geeky Things that I am not Really Interested in.

  1. Brian Bixby
    June 15, 2015

    Well, apart from being Star Trek over Star Wars (which does not mean we are sworn enemies), my big geek fail is Lord of the Rings. I’m sorry, I just read it too late to enjoy it. And Steampunk, per se, leave me cold: if it’s a good story, I’m in, but as a style of costume or story it’s an accessory, not some philosophy of life.

    And here’s one odd bit of geek culture, combining a well-known 1980s sci-fi movie, the actor who played Quark on ST:DS9, and a police procedural, that I ran into while compiling my latest blog post: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYhukkkqS5I

    • davekheath
      June 15, 2015

      The universe is big enough for trek and war fans. Cooll loved Sledge Hammer.

    • Tintorera
      June 15, 2015

      Hahaha, a Star Trek fan myself, I loved Sledge Hammer as a teenager! Watched the very few episodes over and over again.

      Even earlier in life, I loved to play Pong at my friend’s house (we didn’t have such advanced technology), and later I was obsessed with Arkanoid, but that’s it for video gaming here.

      Never watched GoT and I’m neither into Star Wars (sorry) nor Dinosaurs. When it comes to Spielberg, there’s only JAWS!!!

      • davekheath
        June 15, 2015

        Jaws is THE scary movie to me. But I also loved Close Encounters of the Third Kind.

      • Tintorera
        June 15, 2015

        Okay, I also like his debut, “Duel”. And that has some serious dinosaur roaring when the truck finally goes over the cliff. 😉

      • davekheath
        June 16, 2015

        On of my oldest memeories is watching Duel on TV with my dad as a child.

      • Tintorera
        June 16, 2015

        Same here.

  2. Lolsy's Library
    June 15, 2015

    I dislike the whole “Well if you don’t like this and you don’t do this, you are not a real ‘geek'”…Like what you want too, you know? I am always up & down with GoT, this season I nearly went off of it altogether and then there was one episode that awesome! But I’m also not really interested in Suicide Squad at all I’m afraid =/ lol

    • davekheath
      June 15, 2015

      That’s fine. a lot of people have been telling me that. It would be boring if we all like jut the same stuff.

  3. Stuff Jeff Reads
    June 15, 2015

    Great post, Dave. Growing up, being a geek meant you were into things that were not considered “popular.” For me, that was literature, poetry, band, stuff like that. Technology opened a whole new realm for geeks to explore, and I love my niche (being a technical writer is the ultimate geek profession for me). Unfortunately, there is now what I call “geek-chic” where you have to adhere to a marketable idea of what a geek should be, so you can be classified, characterized, and capitalized upon. So for me, I’ll just keep doing the things that I love and ignoring that which doesn’t interest me. Oh, and I love Star Trek and Star Wars. Figured I’d weigh in on that one 😉
    Cheers!

    • davekheath
      June 15, 2015

      You know you are right in the end of the day it is all about what you love.

  4. bryndonovan
    June 15, 2015

    Pretty much the same here. Game of Thrones lost me. I’ve never played video games. I’ve never been super into DC Comics characters, either, though I will cop to wanting to see Jason Momoa as Aqua Man. I think Jurassic Park/World is just mildly entertaining. I’ve never had *any* interest in Transformers.

    • davekheath
      June 15, 2015

      But am sure there are a lot of stuff you do think is cool and that is the important part.

  5. Mike
    June 15, 2015

    I’ll second that nix on GoT. I sat down with my wife one Saturday night with two Netflix DVDs, hit “Play,” and my breathless anticipation just circled down the drain. I never could put my finger on why I couldn’t get into it.

    At least I know I have company.

    • davekheath
      June 15, 2015

      It may be bigger than either of us suspect.

  6. superduperawesomeguy
    June 16, 2015

    Honestly I couldn’t care less about Transformers or Game of Thrones (and that’s besides the fact that my parents won’t let me watch GoT, still don’t care). I actually recently picked of The Dark Knight Returns from my library but only read the first chapter so far so I’m so far unimpressed. Either way, I’m personally excited for Batman V Superman and Suicide Squad as I’m a pretty big DC fanboy and crossing my fingers that they’ll be good (and FYI, Man of Steel was pretty bad imo).

    My geek fingerprint would probably look something like this: DC-Marvel-Pokemon (other than Pokemon, I don’t play any video games)-animals-cryptids-Harry Potter-HeroClix-Jurassic Park

    Geeky things I’m personally not into: Transformers-any video game that’s not Pokemon-manga/anime-G.I.Joe-Game of Thrones-Doctor Who-Star Wars-Star Trek-Lord of the Rings

  7. WooLongTalks
    June 19, 2015

    Great article Dave! I share your hesitation over Batman V Superman, Suicide Squad just looks a form more interesting movie to me..I quite enjoyed the 1st Transformers movie and I credit the influence of Spielburg for that, but my interest disappeared pretty rapidly after that god awful sequel!

    • davekheath
      June 19, 2015

      I do like Buzz ALldern talking to Optimus in the 3rd Prime but that is the sole highlight of the series to me.

  8. calrisma15
    July 2, 2015

    I’ve recently started reading comics and I’ve fallen in love with the genre. I’m halfway through “From Hell”, and the first volume of “Transmetropolitan”, after reading “The Dark Knight” and “Black Hole”. I started reading them after I met a kind spirt in Penang who advised me to watch “Neon Genesis Evangelion”, after we talked a bit about our literary interests given that he thought I’d find the existential undertones in that particular anime worthwhile. It wasn’t much of a struggle to link it to similar writers/ illustrators. Apparently there isn’t too big a gap between PK Dick, and Dostoevsky to contemporary writers in the comic industry. The geek universe is indeed vast to satiate any idiosyncratic palate, once a self professed lover of all things Dragon Ball, and all things Final Fantasy, it’s refreshing to get pulled into a whole new universe that makes both the the teenager and the adult in me smile. Kudos for this nice reminder.

    • davekheath
      July 2, 2015

      Great choice of comics. You are right there are so many cool geek things out there.

  9. msa123
    July 3, 2015

    Truly, “no stranger quadrant on the web” as I thank you for appreciating my Beetlejuice fan-fiction page. Yes, spread the word of “the strange and unusual” as fan-fiction for nations, on our way to taking-over the world. If you know any others who would appreciate the site, send ’em along as we’re about to start a movement, a sea tidal-wave of Hollywood blockbuster product or at least a polite letter of decline from the studio. Anyway, we’ll see. . . . . Thanx for following.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2015 by in comics, tomb raider and tagged , , , , , , , .
