Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

How Can Taylor Swift Make a Female Superhero Movie and Hollywood Can’t?

taylor-swift-bad-blood-music-video

It been kidding season so I have been up to my kneecaps with baby goats, thus I haven’t been writing much, but I as I help midwifed the mother goats I am always thinking of new things to write. There has been a couple hot button geek topics in the news the last week that I thought I might talk about. The fact that Marvel doesn’t seem to be supporting female action figures from the Avengers: Age of Ultron. The other the rape of Sansa Stark on Game of Thrones.

But what am I going to say about these. I am much more likely to buy a Black Widow action figure for my desk or my niece’s birthday than any other of the Avengers. Not only is there not enough Natasha products a stupid idea it is uncharacteristic for Marvel/Disney to leave money on the table. As for Sansa, I am the only geek in the world who doesn’t care about GoT and I really really really, hate the rape as drama trope.

Ok that pretty much sums up DCotU, for this week thanks for coming folks. I mean I can say more about the subject but that pretty much covers it, besides neither topic is a lot of fun. I did however stumble across a geek, feminist related gem that is a lot of fun. The Taylor Swift video for her song Bad Blood.

bad blood

Let me sum up the storyline for Bad Blood. Miss Swift plays mercenary/anti-heroine Catastrophe. Along with her partner Arsyn she breaks into a Yakuza owned business in London, to steal a McGruffin. Arsyn turns on her friend and throws her of a skyscraper. Catastrophe is saved by a secret government agency and her body is rebuilt three clones code-named The Trinity, giving her the power to walk through walls. The agency is led by a tough as nails woman going by the name of Lucky Fioni. Cat is trained as a government agency her skills are respected but not liked by her fellow trainees. Fellow borg, Delima, ninja Home Slice, martial artist Mother Chucker, gadget girl Slay-Z, explosive expert Destruct-X, Knife fighter Cut Throat, arctic combat expert Frostbyte and effective because she is crazy Crimson Curse.. She even goes to blows with hand to hand expert Knock out. Her only ally is the teams token male, and tech/com expert Welvon Da Grate, they bond over the fact they are both outcasts. Vehicle expert Domino takes her on a mission, coming back from the mission she meets field ops Luna and Justice and learns what the outside world is really like. Then experienced warrior woman and field leader Head Mistress, teaches her that she can’t earn the teams respect until she respects herself. A newly invigorated and trained Catastrophes leads the others in an apocalyptic battle against Arsyn and her minions. (Did I read too much into this?)

I am not normally a huge Taylor Swift fan. I can respect her talent, but her music doesn’t move me. She isn’t Janice Joplin, Social D or Johnny Cash (but then again who is?) But it is not bad, I don‘t cringe if my seventeen year old daughter listens to her. This song is OK, but with the exception of the line Band-Aids don’t fix bullets holes” it’s no Eleanor Rigby. But the video is fun.

lamar

The lone guy in a world of action chicks.

It’s not even original it is homage to Kill Bill, Sin City, The Fifth Element, Hannah, Grind House, Le Feme Nikitia, and Tron. It not even the first or best movie trailer video that goes to the Black Keys Howling for You. I didn’t really like Iggy Azalea’s Black Widow song but her Kill Bill-esque video rocks. But back to Bad Blood, I love it because it is just plain old-fashioned fun.

CEltmn3VIAENhca

I want to write Destructa-X’s back story.

So back to the premise if Taylor Swift can make a cool female superhero movie why can’t Hollywood?

I mean honestly it is isn’t if we get a feminist superhero movie, it is a matter of when. Let just hope that we the geeky viewing public haven’t moved on by then.

Hollywood’s lame defense is that all the previous female superheroine movies were flops. But look at their examples Electra and Cat Woman (Both had bad scripts) Blood Ryne (A movie whose sole purpose was to lose money to take advantage of a loophole in the German tax law) Sucker Punch (I love that movie but let’s face it Snyder said he was making the anti-movie) Look at all the good female lead superheroine influence movies that were commercial success there is out there. Kill Bill, Tomb Raider, Hannah, Lucy. And Resident Evil.

The-Scribbler__130507192922

The Scribler a Female comic book adaption done right as a movie.

If Hollywood doesn’t get on the ball soon someone will beat them to the punch. Well they have look at Web Shows, like the Sweat Hearts of the Galaxy, or We Might be Super Heroes, or the upcoming Electra Woman and Dyna Girl reboot. Or hope on Netflixs and check out movies like The Scribbler (It starts out what is reality? show, and then goes full bore superhero) or 88 (A woman’s personality is taken over by a villainous persona) [Dang it sorry guys they just pulled 88 but if you can find it somewhere else check it out] or Mercenaries which is about female mercs who take so much damage and regenerate so fast they might as well be super heroines. Brought to you by the people who brought you Sharknado, it stars stunt woman extraordinaire Zoe Bell. It is by no way a great movie, Zoe’s New Zeeland accent keeps slipping through her American one. It is super low budget and I think I recognized the Ventura Freeway in a background shot that was supposed to Kazakhstan. But at least it is something until the big boys get their act together.

mercenaries-2014-movie-poster

I love Zoe Bell.

Now you may notice these aren’t true cape and tights hero movies. But you know what that is OK. Maybe holding to tightly to the genre is one of the reasons why Man of Steal and Green Lantern sucked. No only should we have more female lead superhero movies they should expand. I love the Incredibles but it as much James Bond as Super Friends. Winter Solider is a 70’s spy thriller with main characters who have powers. Guardians of the galaxy is space opera with a comic book twist.

Let break more than just the gender barrier. How about a Gotham Sirens with Sin City feel. Black Widow in a James Bond-esque movie, Birds of Prey as a check flick with explosions. Or Nova in her own movie set in space kind of like a female Han Solo.

Come on Hollywood you have the money and you have the talent lets do this. You been put on notice. If not Taylor’s next song is going to be all about you.

More female action videos.

19 comments on “How Can Taylor Swift Make a Female Superhero Movie and Hollywood Can’t?

  1. JImbo
    May 24, 2015

    Because it’s 4 minutes long and she needs zero promotions budget since the media is drooling over every word? And it’s free to view?
    Seriously.
    Make a movie already with a bunch of popular female stars and it’ll sell if through nothing more than fan demand than anything else.
    Taylor Swift, Kim Kardashian, etc.
    If you film it, they will come.
    Not saying it’ll be a GOOD movie, but people will pay to watch it.
    Taylor Swift has the money to bankroll it herself. She’s worth MILLIONS. So do the Kardashians. So do a few dozen other successful women in Hollywood.
    So the question isn’t why isn’t there a movie made by some male director in Hollywood… the question is… why haven’t they taken charge and made it themselves?
    What are they waiting for?

    • davekheath
      May 24, 2015

      True I realized the question was rhetorical. Miss Swift wasn’t taking a chance with this video. She will sell albums no mater what. I Still think that some studio is leaving a hole lot of cash on the table look at what a pro-feminist Mad Max has done.

      • JImbo
        May 25, 2015

        Exactly. My point though is that there ARE people there to fill the hole. You don’t need to go through “the studios” as such like it’s the 1950s. Instead of blaming studios or “them”, why not ask why the people that SHOULD want to make this movie (Taylor Swift for example) are NOT stepping up and doing so?

  2. Pavowski
    May 25, 2015

    Yeah, I think you read too much into the video — it’s only 4 minutes long after all, I dunno how you got that much story out of it. That said, if they can cobble together a dozen male action stars for “The Expendables” and its sequels ad nauseam, why can’t they take this little gem and turn it into the female version of Expendables? Call it, “Las Expendablistas,” or don’t, because, you know, that’s terrible, but still.

    • davekheath
      May 25, 2015

      Thanks for the idea, I tend to read a lot of things in to fiction, I woudl apologize but it is fun. good think I didn’t print my theory about why Taylor is only wearing a slip top and skirt in the beginning of the video

  3. Lolsy's Library
    May 25, 2015

    Was Mariska Hargitay “Justice”? I didn’t see that one coming! I love her!lol…I absolutely agree with what you’re saying too. I know don’t want to watch GoT any-more, it’s just getting repetitive and boring. If the only way you can empower a women is to have her borderline sexually assaulted, especially when it’s not even in the book, that’s just lazy writing really.
    I hope that things will start changing now because we’ve had so many powerful actresses start to come out to say about the inequality in Hollywood!

    • davekheath
      May 25, 2015

      I wish I had a bunch of awesome famous friends so I could say hey lets make a video and they all say OK.

  4. scody2012
    May 25, 2015

    It’s all very simple. Hollywood won’t step up and make female super hero movies because men won’t go see them. Men go to super hero movies. Men want BatMAN, SuperMAN, Iron MAN, etc. I have this argument with my comic book friends all the time. I don’t get why mainstream comic book “nerds” (not an insult) don’t want to see female super heroes. If I had to go mainstream, I’d like to see a (better) CatWOMAN movie. Or a BatGIRL movie. But, I’d rather see indie female “comic” heroes, like Cassie Hack. Or Violet Grimm (from Dogwitch – written by the guy who wrote The Scribbler). Or Lady Mechanika. And those have even less chance of getting made. But, truth be told, I think way better movies, short films, and web series are made outside of Hollywood, and even by ameteurs. So, until those talented people are absorbed by the Hollywood machine, I’ll keep watching their stuff instead!

    • aaforringer
      May 25, 2015

      No it is not men that Hollywood is pandering too, it is boys, and I have met some boys that are 40s, 50s, ….. Real Men like strong women, but boys don’t, maybe it is Mommy issues, maybe they are insecure about their own masculinity.

      I am not saying you are right, but that may be the reason behind your logic.

    • davekheath
      May 25, 2015

      I am slow to embrace the new media, things like web series, because I am a stick in the mud who hates change, but if they have what I want then well I guess that si where I need to go.

  5. aaforringer
    May 25, 2015

    Well if Marvel does a good job with the Netflix series Jessica Jones, (due out next year I think) like they did with Daredevil (use the same team, same writers, directors, casting director. Daredevil was Amazing) then maybe the flood gates will open for female super heroes.

    I understand the portrayal of women in sexy clothes, I can even understand the feminine tools to get close to men (just so they can kill them, or steal from them, or whatever their ‘mission’ is) You know what just sucks about videos like what Ms. Swift put out, bu for combat, kicking butt, no one and I mean no one would ever wear high heeled shoes. The femine form is beautiful no matter what they wear, so put them in comfortable clothes, not things that are a 13 year old boys fantasy wear.

    One of my favorite female warriors, Zoe Washburne from Firefly, you never saw her wearing high heels, but there is no denying her femininity. Heck even River Tam wore boots when kicking Reaver butt.

    • davekheath
      May 25, 2015

      Good points. I am excited about Jessica Jones, The photos with David Tenant and Carrie Anne Moss look great. So it may open the flood gate.

      Though I am disappointed that there is no Black Widow movie on the horizon, I am thinking that Suicide Squad might bring us some Harley Quinn movies.

      When I saw the combat heals I thought I hope they don’t break their legs.

  6. Statler N. Waldorf
    June 15, 2015

    Aeon Flux was unwatchable at times, too. It’s sad state of affairs when Charlize Theron can’t salvage something.

    • davekheath
      June 16, 2015

      Especially since the source material was awesome.

  7. lingonberryjelly
    June 17, 2015

    As far as I can tell, all of the MCU films function on a simple formula, character development + explosions. I might be the minority in the audience, but I don’t care that much about the explosions.

    I sort of liked Green Lantern in a B-movie kinda way, but I wholeheartedly agree on Man of Steel, and I think the lack of a real story is my primary problem. They might have had an archetypal struggle, and they definitely had explosions, but they had characters far more one-dimensional than Superman Returns; That’s saying something.

    I think the mistake Hollywood has made in their attempts at the female superhero film is in believing tight-leather-pants + explosions = a movie everyone wants to watch. It doesn’t.

    • davekheath
      June 17, 2015

      True, not that I object to a pretty face on the screen. Right now the movie I want to see the most is Suicide Squad, but I am probably setting myself up for a disappointment
      .

  8. sheldonk2014
    September 3, 2015

    I saw the video awards the other nite she sang with niki
    She pretty much held her own
    As always Sheldon

    • davekheath
      September 3, 2015

      Thanks for letting me know I haven’t seen that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
