Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The Ultimate Pop Culture Trivia Quiz.

questionmark

Here is some trivia questions I came up with for Facebook a while back. Don’t feel bad if you don’t know the answers to some of them, they are pretty obscure.

1)      What resistance leader has been portrayed in TV and Movies by Edward Furlong, Nick Stahl, Christian Bale and Thomas Dekker?

2)      What was the opening act at Woodstock?

3)      What University did Mick Jagger attend?

4)      What Johnny Cash album got its name form a Bruce Springsteen song?

5)      What is the title of the Theme Song form MASH?

6)      What Movie won the first Best Picture Academy Award?

7)      What was the name of the Spaceship in Alien? (Bonus points where did the name come form?)

8)      The book Killer Angels was made into what movie?

9)      Who was killed by Joe Chill?

10)  Who wrote the graphic novel 300?

And the answers are.

1) John Conner – from the Terminator Movies and Sarah Conner Chronicles.
2) Sweetwater
3) London School of Economics
4) Johnny 99.
5) Suicide is Painless
6) Wings
7) Nostromo it was the title of a Joseph Conrad book. The ship in Aliens is the Salaco also from a Joseph Conrad novel.
8) Gettysburg.
9) Dr. Thomas and Martha Wayne (Batman’s parents)
10) Frank Miller.

23 comments on “The Ultimate Pop Culture Trivia Quiz.

  1. Mark
    March 19, 2015

    Good questions. Managed to score 4, which is more than I thought I would :p

    • davekheath
      March 19, 2015

      It is really hard, I have to admit I picked things that I thought people would like to learn rather than what they know.

  2. poprocker1
    March 19, 2015

    Wow, I only got 60%. I’m not much of a music person, so I knew I wouldn’t get the music questions. The “Killer Angels” one I knew I wouldn’t get. But I’m pretty embarrassed by the Nostromo one.

    • davekheath
      March 19, 2015

      Still that is great, honestly I found a bunch f facts I wanted to share and this seemed the most fun way.

  3. benmc47
    March 19, 2015

    Also 60%. And no bonus points.

  4. Cassidy Frazee
    March 19, 2015

    Going back to #7, the shuttle that Ripley escapes in is named Narcissus, which refers to another Conrad story, and in Aliens, the Sulaco was named after the port city in Nostromo.

    • davekheath
      March 19, 2015

      Thanks I for got about the Narcissus. I love the Conrad connection.

      • Cassidy Frazee
        March 19, 2015

        I loved that they kept the connection in the next movie as well.

  5. moonminded
    March 20, 2015

    My best buddy from childhood is a huge MASH fan – I can’t wait to nail her with number five tomorrow! (Only scored three.)

  6. oh2bhuman
    March 20, 2015

    Oh dear…I was a dummy!!!

    • davekheath
      March 20, 2015

      No this is hard, this was more about getting obscure trivia out than than how smart you are.

      • oh2bhuman
        March 20, 2015

        Thanks….interesting how we all know a different kind of trivia!

      • davekheath
        March 21, 2015

        Absolutely true.

  7. mitchteemley
    March 21, 2015

    Wait, Mick attended London School of Economics? Maybe the words to that song should go “Got the investments like Jagger.”

    • davekheath
      March 22, 2015

      LOL, he quit though to make music more money in it.

  8. ITALYNSTALYN7
    March 23, 2015

    I scored a zero, but I guess this is not really my area of expertise, still enjoyed the Blog though davekheath. Keep at it!

  9. Loki
    March 26, 2015

    Five. Which is more than I thought I’d get — by and large I have less interest in music than I do in buckets of gravel (but I knew the M*A*S*H title!).

    • davekheath
      March 26, 2015

      Very good score.

      • Loki
        March 26, 2015

        A bit embarrasing that I still haven’t seen “Alien”, but thanks for sayin’. 🙂

      • davekheath
        March 26, 2015

        Even if you know how it ends worth checking out just for the style and the mood.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
