Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Tortured Genius Reduex.

Due to schedule and other things popping up I haven’t had a chance to write anything for my blog. So I am going to repost something over a year ago, about insanity and creativity.

Is there a connection between insanity and creativity? Does a person who perceives reality differently than the rest of the status qauo have an advantage in creating new concepts and ideas? Or is there something inherent in the creative process that pushes fringe personalities over the edge of reason?

My first brush with this concept was a book I found on a table in the Oxnard Public Library. It was about Philip K Dick. I was fifteen years old, and waiting for my mother to pick me up from a nearby play practice. I barely knew who Philip K. Dick was, and the book was actually some literature major’s thesis paper so I am not sure why I it would have captured my interest in the way it did. Maybe it was the cover with a comic book style sketch of a man feverishly writing with bizarre alien menaces surrounding his work room.

For some reason, I read its first and last chapters, before my parents arrived. And the conclusion of the writer’s thesis has always stayed with me. Because of Dick’s terrible and traumatic psychiatric issues, he created a brilliant body of work, that the world is better off for.  That concept stuck with me, for many years. Eventually it morphed in to a sense of self guilt. Was I as a reader and enjoyer of books that were written by tormented people, some kind of voyeuristic ghoul who was taking enjoyment from other’s sufferings?

For those who do not know of him Philip K. Dick was a prolific science fiction writer, who wrote many sci-fi classics  books in the  nineteen-sixties and seventies, some of which have been made into movies  (often after changing the name of the title) such as Blade Runner, Total Recall, and Minority Report. Undoubtedly a genius the man was probably also schizophrenic, and his condition was made worse by drug use.

As a he grew up his best friend and closest confidant was his twin sister, Jane. He vividly remembered spending time and playing with her. The problem with this was his sister died six weeks after they were born.   Even he had to admit that at least to some degree his fondest memories were in reality hallucinations. His entire life was a battle with deciphering what was real and what was not. Paranoia exasperated his metal issues to a degree it concluded in near messianic visions.

Dick is not the only writer to take inspiration from his tormented past. I recently read a review of a book that claims that H.P. Lovecraft’s literary genius was the result of mental illness. Jules Verne visions of the future were so dark due to his personal battles with depressions that many of his stories endings were rewritten by his editor, to be sellable. Ian Fleming started the Bond stories as a form of self-catharsis to deal with his violent temper and misogynistic tendencies. And I cannot read Poe’s Annabel Lee without feeling his pain and anguish.

Of course not all good writers suffered from mental disorders, but you will be hard pressed to find one who was not at the best deemed a little weird, because of his behaviors. Also the genius and insanity parallel is not limited to just the written word. Vincent Van Gogh is an obvious case of a painter, who balanced (in the end unsuccessfully) between inspiration and madness. In hindsight I cannot listen to Smells Like Teen Spirit without seeing it as a kind of suicide note.

So that brings me to the revelation I received from when I was fifteen sitting in the public library, am I some kind of vampire masquerading as literati feasting the misery of others? Years later I would come to the conclusions that these tortured genius were not forced to write what they did. In most cases they did this as some kind of release or escape from what inflicted them. So now instead of feeling shame for enjoying what these genius conflicts and agonies produced, I celebrate that a trouble mind could reach out and create something beautiful and in many cases inspiring.

7 comments on “Tortured Genius Reduex.

  1. scribblingscribes
    February 9, 2015

    A thought provoking read. Thanks.

  2. J.Gi Federizo
    February 9, 2015

    Like it a lot. Thanks for sharing this very interesting post, Dave 🙂

    • davekheath
      February 9, 2015

      Your welcome. PKD was an interesting person.

  3. Mike
    February 9, 2015

    I think you’re on to something. This reminds me of this line from Midsummer Night’s Dream:

    Lovers and madmen have such seething brains,
    Such shaping fantasies, that apprehend
    More than cool reason ever comprehends.

    Sometimes a spoonful of insanity makes art come alive.

  4. Christy Birmingham
    February 19, 2015

    Very interesting read!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2015 by in Fiction, Genius, Philip K Dick, Story.
