Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Great Lines form Comic Books

a dame to kill for.

 

So last night I drove in to Sandy Oregon, the nearest big city to where I live to watch the Sandy theater’s one and only showing of Frank Millers: Sin City: A Dame to Kill For. It was 9:30 at night and I was the only one in the theater. The movie wasn’t bad. It is four stories, two cannon and two New ones. And will the actual Dame to Kill For is this perfect little gem of a dark noir story. Like I said the other yarns weren’t bad, but they sure suffered in comparison to ADtKF. In fact the Nancy story line steals from Millers other stories. Nancy tricking Marv to help her attack a mansion full of badies. Now I can’t say that stealing form yourself is a sin. But we just saw it done way better on the screen thirty minutes prior.

I am afraid that Miller really has been phoning it in since 1989. But there was a time he was the greatest living master of dialog in the English language. He went form classics like “She is the goddess who consumes men’s souls.” To “You don’t smell of anything I don’t like.” Comparing his older work to his new work on the silver screen made me kind of sad. So instead of me harping on the once great fallen master, here are some classic lines form comic books.

qande

 

“There’s a trick, they teach it to you at the School. When someone pulls a gun on you, they say…charge at him like a bloody lunatic… It’s the last thing they expect and most of them can’t hit water from a submarine anyway…and repeat to yourself over and over that you’re doing this for Queen and Country.”
Tara Chace, Greg Rucka, Queen & Country “Operation: Broken Ground”

Roacshac

Dog carcass in alley this morning, tire tread on burst stomach. This city is afraid of me. I have seen its true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout “Save us!”… and I’ll whisper “no.” Rorschach: Alan More The watchmen.

tiger jackpot

“Face it, Tiger… you just hit the jackpot!” Mary Jane Watsons’ first words to Peter, Stan Lee, Parker Amazing Spiderman #42.

greenies

 

“I been readin’ about you… how you work for the blue skins… and how on a planet someplace you helped out the orange skins… and you done considerable for the purple skins! Only there’s skins you never bothered with — ! The black skins! I want to know… how come?! Answer me that, Mr. Green Lantern! “ The old black man, Written by Dennis O’Neil.– Green Lantern –Green Arrow #1

 

dwight sin city

“There’s going to be hell to pay—But neither me nor mine will have to pay it.” Dwight McCarthy, Frank Miller, Sin City: Family Values.

Claes

“Yes there is still hope in our world.” Speranza Gueliffi, Yu Aida, The last line in Gunslinger Girl.

harley

“Face it, Harl. This stinks—yer a certified nutso wanted in twelve states – and hopelessly in love with a psychopathic clown. Hey when did my life go all loony tunes!?” Harley Quinn Batman: Mad Love.

Jerk

“Professor Xavier is a Jerk!” Kitty Pride. Cris Clairmont, Uncanny X-Men 168.

mister freeze

“Of course, I know about bad luck… that’s one of the lessons that this city teaches us all, eventually.” Mr Freeze, Greg Rucka Gotham Central #1.

Zoe morning glories
“Do you REALLY think the last thing I’m gonna do before I die is admit someone else was right??” Zoe, Nick Spencer Morning Glories #2.

2887386-hellboy_4

“I’d be the first to admit that I have no shortage of faults. But if I had to pick one, the one that’s gotten me into the most trouble of the years… It would be that I sometimes get angry.” Hellboy Mike Mignolillia, Hellboy, Seed of Destruction.

V

“People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.” –V Alan Moore, V For Vendetta

Elas

“If I am going to have to beat up a lot of terrible American proles today I am going to absently need more tea darling.” Elesa Bloodstone, Warren Ellis, Nextwave.
.

 

12 comments on “Great Lines form Comic Books

  1. Pingback: Great Lines form Comic Books | gamedoutgeek

  2. ArcaneHalloween
    August 29, 2014

    Alan Moore and Frank Miller are without doubt the two greatest comic-book writers ever in my humble opinion. They wrote my three favourite comic series of all time – Watchmen, V for Vendetta and the Dark Knight Returns. That said, I am also a big fan of Grant Morrison and Denny O’Neil.

  3. aaforringer
    August 29, 2014

    Another great posting.

  4. andrewknighton
    August 29, 2014

    I just re-read Nextwave last week, and there are so many great lines I’m impressed that you managed to pick out just one. Warren Ellis is my favourite comic writer, and that’s largely down to his knack for such cracking dialogue. Nothing lights up my day like reading a Spider Jerusalem rant from Transmetropolitan.

    • davekheath
      August 30, 2014

      How could I have left out a Transmetoltian Quote. I actually did a blog entitled Warren Ellis is my go to Comics Guy.

  5. aaforringer
    August 29, 2014

    Thanks to you I lost an hour enjoying the Time Tunnel Pilot, now I am behind schedule and frustrated for what shall never be.

    • davekheath
      August 30, 2014

      If only we had a real time tunnel. They we make up all that lost time.

  6. J.Gi Federizo
    September 6, 2014

    The Green Lantern one sounds like a racial discrimination thing. Gunslinger Girl kind of reminds me of HitGirl from Kickass. Best line from here, for me, is “Hey when did my life go all loony tunes!?”

    • davekheath
      September 6, 2014

      It is a great line.

      Yes the Green Lantern one, was a racial wildfire, It made Green Lantern think hey I help people from space of all colors what am I doing about minorities on my world. He and green Arrow then hop in a truck and headed of to discover America. it opened the doors to discussion on racial issues in American Comic books.

      • J.Gi Federizo
        September 6, 2014

        Then I like that the people behind Green lantern did that 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
