Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

3 Characters I Wished had More Screen Time

Ever since I was a child I have always loved bit or supporting characters more than the primary ones. I liked Robin more than Batman, and preferred Watson over Sherlock. My favorite character in Star Trek was not Kirk, Spock or McCoy but Scotty. In a lot of ways I never outgrew this.

Part of this is because I can make up my version of their backstory, and it is easier to make up plotlines in my head for them without running into a wall that is official cannon. Obviously I am not the only one or there wouldn’t be so much Draco Malfoy fan-fict. But it’s not just the theater of my mind, I’d like to see more official story lines for my favorite C-listers.

Sometimes this becomes a reality. As a kid my favorite Star Wars character was Wedge Antilles. The Survivor of the battle against both of the Death Stars. (If I was an uber geek I would bring up that Keyan Farlander was the surviving Y-Wing pilot in The NewHhope, and that he flew high support, in a B-Wing during the second Battle, but I am not that geeky, oh wait I am.) Wedge is in all three movies, but Wedge really comes into his own in the EU. He is the main character in The Rouge Squadron, books, comics and games. The term for a character who rises from minor importance to pivotal player in a plot line is “Wedge Antilles Class Character.”

Image

Of course Wedge is alive he is too awesome to be killed off.

But sometimes when a beloved character gets more screen time it doesn’t work out the way I had hoped. I love the thought provoking anime and manga Gunslinger Girls. And by far my favorite G.G. is Claes. The mild mannered anti-terrorist cyborg whose handler’s death made her suitable only as a genie pig, and who lived a life bound by a subconscious order to be gentle and kind when she wore her glasses. Heck I even named my pet goat after Claes. And I loved the story arc when she had to take to the field because she was the only one of the gunslingers who could pass a diplomats daughter that a group of terrorist where trying to kidnap. But still when we got to see a day in Claes life, it was well boring. How much fun is it to follow a lab rat around when the other girls are of saving democracy?

Image

Claes the Gunslinger Girl

 

Image

Claes my goat

With that in mind here are some characters i Wish would get more screen time.

Dr. Albert Marconi. John Dies at the End, is a cool quirky funny horror story about two slackers who will save the world, as long as they don’t have a date, or a pickup basketball game or something good isn’t on TV. I love David Wong and John Cheese as characters but let’s face it, the dog was better at making plans on how to save the world than they were. Marconi however is a perfect foil for these slacker generation heroes.

Image

Marconi is an ex-priest Vegas showman who is so powerful that he can exercise a demon over the phone. He is accompanied by two hot twin assistants who undoubtedly would do anything that employer would ask of them. He has nearly reached enlightenment, after a series of Indiana Jones type adventures. He is a Mary Sue in a good way that contrasts with the main characters slacker-tude.
He is so perfect that I really expected him to be revealed as the villain in the end of the story. He does have a hidden agenda but it to benefit mankind and stop the evil ultra-dimensional daemon’s army form invading the Earth. Yes he uses Dave and John as pawns, but well come on even the dog has a better idea of what is going on than they do.

Image

Marconi and the Twins saving the world and looking good while they do it.

I think that a Dr. Marconi TV show would just rock. Sure Wong and Cheese could show up but the main character would be the good doctor. It would probably have to be on a cable channel keeping with the R-rated nature of the movie and book. And the writers would have to create some kind of over lapping story arc to prevent it from becoming a monster of the week show. But I think my man Marconi could more than pull it off. Especially if Clancy Brown reprises the role. And come on wouldn’t you pay good money to see two hot twins going all Bruce Lee on a CGI demon?

Image

Jules Winnfield: Before I saw Pulp Fiction I thought it was a movie about John Travolta’s Vincent Vega. But let’s face it Vinnie Barbarino is a terrible gangster. He spends most of the movie fighting irritable bowel syndrome, he leaves his gun lying around so boxer Bruce Willis could pick it up and kill him with it half way through the movie, he nearly gets his boss’ wife killed oh and how could I forget. “He Shot Marvin in the Face!” It is more than implied there was a reason he was shipped off to exile in Europe before movie.
On the other hand Samuel L. Jackson’s Jules is the real deal. He (mis)quotes scripture before a hit. Mainly to scare the hell out of potential victim. He suddenly becomes religious when he thinks that gunshots that should have killed him seem to have curved around him and his partner. The thing is, he is right! Watch that scene again. Vincent and Jules were standing right between the gunmen and the spot where the bullets impacted on the wall. It was a M***** F***ing miracle! Only Vincent isn’t smart enough to get that fact.
Jules however has a kind of religious conversion. He is enough of a changed man to talk “Pumpkin” and “Honey Bunny” out doing something stupid and forcing him to kill them. But he also keeps the brief case thus finishing his final job for his boss. With the life of killing behind him he plans on wandering the world, looking for the reason that God had saved him.

Image

Two more miracles and Jules can submit his application to become a saint.

Without the miracle Jules is an interesting thug and a killer. We get a few tantalizing insights to him, such as he has a vegetarian girlfriend and that pretty much makes him a vegetarian too, and that he never gave a man a foot rub. But after the gunfight and his realization he becomes fascinating.

I would love to see a movie, read a book, or watch a TV show about his travels after his epiphany. Kind of like Touched by an Angel but with gngstas. Jules could be God’s instrument of destruction. Of course there would be a fallen angel out there (please let it be played by a hot chick) trying to thwart God and his OG. Man that sounds good. Why isn’t someone making this right now?
Some had theorized he appeared in another Q.T . Movie. Personally I don’t see Jules also being Rufus, the black pianist in Kill Bill, besides the fact that they were both played by Samuel L. I don’t see the pianist’s back story of all the great 60’s bands he played with matching up with Jules background. I mean he could have lied about that part, but I don’t care if it was the DVAS, there is no way that Jules would go out like a punk. He would have at least taken Bud out.

Image

Jules could have held his own against these guys.

 

Darcy Lewis. Whenever I get on a rant about what I fear Disney is going to do with Star Wars, I get stopped with the simple argument. “Disney did OK with the Avengers.” And well dang it they did really good, for the most part on all of the Phase One movies. Even with occasional missteps like Iron Man 2 and the original Thor movie. And one of the best things about the Phase Ones is Darcy Lewis. Who is she you ask?

Darcy is Natalie Portland’s character’s intern. A snarky hipster girl played with devilish glee by Kat Denning. Come on you remember her, she’s the one who keeps running over the god of thunder and then offering to give him mouth to mouth.

Image
Thor: Dark World is one of the rare sequels that is better than its predecessor. But last year we all heard rumors about how terrible it was going to be, and that Josh Whedon had to parachute on to the set and re-write it. Though latter he said he just polished the script up. It is hard for me not to believe that the parts he wrote was Darcy’s dialog. Did you notice how her dead pan Sinicism would fit in perfectly at Sunnydale High?

When it was announced that smoking hot Kat Denning would be in Thor everyone thought she would be Hela or Lorelei, a sexy canon bad girl, but instead she was an entirely new character. I have been in love with Miss Denning since I saw her Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist. And she is still cute as a button wearing a knit cap and those hipster glasses, but it really is her wit and humor that makes her so attractive in the Thor movies. Maybe I have lived in Portland to long that I think the embodiment of hipster culture is sexy.
Like Clark Gregg’s Phil Coulson, Darcy is a normal human in a world of superheroes and laser gun toting raccoons. She not even super smart like Natalie Portman’s character. The team took her on because they thought she was a science major, when in reality she was a political science major. She is a perfectly relatable character in a world of spandex and capes. If she did have a superpower it would be the power of snark.

Image

Kat Denning without the knit cap and hipster glasses.

Of all three characters mentioned here Darcy has the best chance of branching out. She already been in the comics. Unlike Portman who I doubt would demean herself by appearing on TV, Darcy would be a natural for Agents of SHIELD, Denning already has television cred with Two Broke Girls and a slew of cameos on prime time TV. And maybe Joss would write her episode. I can defiantly see her bonding with Skye over a latte while Fitz goes all googely eye over their visitor. A cameo in a captain America or in a Black Widow & Hawkeye movie is also not out of the question.

Image

Hi Asgardian hunks my name is Darcy.

15 comments on “3 Characters I Wished had More Screen Time

  1. scody2012
    March 27, 2014

    JDATE is one of my favorite books, but, the movie, not so much. Oh, and, in QT’s world, I would love to see more of schoolgirl assassin Gogo Yubari (Chiaki Kuriyama).

    • davekheath
      March 27, 2014

      Gogo was supposed to have a twin sister who would have been in Kill Bill 2. She and Beatrix were supposed to have a big fight where the ‘Pussy Wagon” was destroyed but that arc got killed. To bad Tarantino has pretty much shelved Kill Bill 3 or we could have possibly seen the other Yubari sister.

  2. Joe Bradshaw
    March 27, 2014

    I would like to say I love your blog and the wonderful and beautiful things you share as well as the inspiration and smiles you bring in doing so! Thank you for being you and I hope even if you do not accept awards you will accept the sentiment expressed as I honor you with one. There is no prize that comes with the award other than my appreciation and being grateful you are part of our world and making a difference by sharing in such a positive way…
    I have posted the award and link to it here I hope you will accept it or at least the sentiment behind it! http://artisticlyxpressedthoughts.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/awards-and-shared-gifts/

    With love,
    Joe

    • davekheath
      March 28, 2014

      Well thank you Joe I am truly the guy who never wins anything so thank you.

  3. kenfontenot
    March 27, 2014

    Wedge is one of my favorite SW characters as well. When he popped up in ESB, I prayed that he wouldn’t die. Then he shows up in ROTJ and I thought, “Yep, he’s dead.” Miraculously the maker allowed his character to live and, as you said, thrive in the EU.

    I’m also a huge Kat Denning freak! Excellent write up.

    • davekheath
      March 27, 2014

      thanks there are so many bit players out there tht could easily carry their own story line.

  4. aaforringer
    March 28, 2014

    One of my favorites was played by John Ratzenberger back in the 1987, House II: The Second Story. Bill Townsend, Electrician/Adventurer. Only about three minutes of screen time, but he made a big impression on me. So much that I made him the father of one of my characters in my story: The Disinclined Purveyor of Sequential Art.

    Shameful plug now: http://aaforringer.com/2013/04/06/the-disinclined-purveyor-of-sequential-art/

  5. aaforringer
    March 28, 2014

    According to my story he did get more love, 6 children.

    • davekheath
      March 28, 2014

      That’s it tomorrow I put in my resume as e;electrician/adventure.

  6. maurnas
    March 31, 2014

    I love in Florida and I thinks hipsters are hot. And so is Kat Denning.

  7. Henry Chamberlain
    April 2, 2014

    I love Kat Denning!

    • davekheath
      April 2, 2014

      Not only is she as great actress everything I heard is she is a pretty down to earth person.

  8. Insanity540
    April 21, 2014

    Really interesting post. Thanks for following CollectionOfAwesome.com – I agree that Jules could have a greater story arc and that Kat Denning would be an amazing cameo in Agents of SHIELD (even it was just her being snarky for 10 minutes as a nod to the Thor movies).

    • davekheath
      April 21, 2014

      We can hope. I would watch the heck out of that episode.

Leave a Reply

