Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Top 10 Dating Hints from Star Wars: A New Hope.

Image

I am the last guy you should take love or romance advice from. I don’t get love, it is like a mathematical problem that I just can’t solve. Maybe it is because I treat love like a math problem is the reason that I am so bad at it.

A couple days ago was Valentine’s Day. Not having a significant other or a +1 in my life, I of course picked up an elven hour shift at work. When people at work asked me weather or not I was doing anything for Valentine’s Day, I replied “I refuse to celebrate anything that Pope Pious VI removed from the liturgical colander.”   No, I am not Catholic, I just like using the word liturgical at work. And well it is easier to say than, I am disillusioned grumpy lonely middle-aged man.

So if I don’t know love what do I know? Star Wars. So in a flash of brilliance I decided to combine the two.   And I came up with the Top Ten Dating Hints from Star Wars: A New Hope. The funny thing is it doesn’t take too much imagination to find at least one of these ‘hints’ that probably applies to your very own love life.

So good luck and may the Force be with you.

Oh and the management here at Dave’s Corner of the Universe is not to be held responsible if using any of these hints, leads to heartache, misery or sleeping on the couch.

10) “… You came in here and you didn’t have a plan for getting out?”

9) “I find your lack of faith disturbing.”

8) “I’ve got a very bad feeling about this.”

7) “I suggest a new strategy, R2. Let the wookiee win.”

6) “Look, good against remotes is one thing, good against the living, that’s something else.”

5) “Watch your mouth kid or you will find yourself floating home.”

4) “Boring conversation anyway. Luke, we’re gonna have company!”

3)  “These are not the droids you’re looking for.”

2) “Trust in your feelings.”

1)  “…Don’t get Cocky.”

6 comments on “Top 10 Dating Hints from Star Wars: A New Hope.

  1. pulpfictionme
    February 17, 2014

    I have always wondered how Hon Solo got the girl. I mean, seriously? He was a complete dick. Moral of story – find a really ugly girl and pretend like you don’t like her until she likes you back.

    • davekheath
      February 17, 2014

      I was team Luke until that whole you are my siter thing.

      • Josee
        February 17, 2014

        Girls always like the bad boy. When i first saw the film, I totally crushed on Luke but as I got older, I got it.

  2. davekheath
    February 18, 2014

    Well I can’t say guys don’t like their share of the bad girls too.

  3. FiddlinErin
    February 18, 2014

    I’m a firm believer in using the word “liturgical” whenever I can throw it in… mostly because I need all the help I can get.

    Regarding Star Wars — are you going to hate me for not being familiar enough with the films to even have a reference for the quotes? Alas, my love life is sure to suffer.

    • davekheath
      February 19, 2014

      actually your love life is probably the better for it.

      Don’t feel to bad about not knowing all the quotes/ There are some pretty obscure ones here. Also some of them have more famous parts before the quote I used, it just seemed to make more sense to use the parts I did in context.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
