Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

Dark Times in a Galaxy Far Far Away

Image

If you have been following Dave’s Corner of the Universe, you know two things about me. I love Star Wars and I love Dark Horse Comics. They are like chocolate and peanut butter, and when they come together they are like Reeses cups, they fit tougher perfectly. So you can guess how I felt that about the news that the Star Wars comic franchise going back to Marvel.

Neither I nor anyone else should be surprised by this. From a purely economic stand point it makes sense. Disney owns Star Wars, and Disney owns Marvel. It is logical to keep production in house. But I am more concerned about how it will affect the art and storylines than, Disney’s wallet.

I have stated this before, I am an indy comics kind of guy, in the same kind of way my grandfather was a FDR man. I am not really a big fan of either of the ‘Big Two’, but I love Number Three, Dark Horse, and this goes for most of their Star Wars line.  Legacy took SW to a dark and distant future it had never before been too. Agent of the Empire, features a futuristic James Bond who is on the wrong side, he is forgiven because he fights even bigger badies than the Empire and holds on to a personal code of honor  tighter than a Jedi. And tales of the Jedi, gave us this beautiful panoramic history of the Star Wars expanded Universe before anyone else. Sure there have been a few misses, like the tale of Skippy the Force sensitive Droid, or when Indiana Jones found a crashed Millennian Falcon but most of Dark Horse’s stuff has been golden.

I am afraid I do not look back at Marvel’s original run of Star Wars with much affection. The art and spaceships looked more like they belonged in Flash Gordon’s Mongo than on Yavin. The story lines were insipid. The colors were terrible. Though this may be more because they were made in the late seventies than anything else.

I remember thirty years ago or so a friend loaned me Marvel’s The Empire Strikes Back, and reading in shocked horror that they had switched out Wedge Antillies with Dak as Luke’s tail gunner, in the battle of Hoth. They killed the hero of the Battle of Yavin. Never having read the comic adaption of The Return of the Jedi, I am not sure how they explain how he destroyed another death star when he was dead.

In fact the only thing I remember about Marvel’s run on Star Wars that I like was Jaxxon a six foot tall green space trucking rabbit.   On the other hand there are many things I like about Dark Horse’s run, not the least of which is that for twenty years they have given us constantly good and entertaining stories lines.

Image

This dude is the only thing I liked about Marvel’s Star Wars run

I have already stated my concern that the Disney acquisition would mean a re-boot for the EU in a blog called Mickey Mouse: Jedi Knight or Sith Lord, But these concerns are doubled for the comic line. Even if Marvel produces some awesome storylines right off the bat, I am going to be a hard sell. I am like the kid who moved to another town and really misses all his old cool friends and it doesn’t matter how awesome the new kids are, he doesn’t really like them because he resents his parent’s making him move in the first place.  I suppose having a new pristine sand box to play in would be nice, but I am going to miss my old one.

So with that said let’s look at some possible good points. Dark Horse has a year to wrap up storylines. At least this gives the writers and characters a chance to go out with a bang, like Alderaan. As opposed to a whimper like storm troopers being beat by a bunch of Stone Age teddy bears. Also many of the character’s I love like Wedge Aayla Secura, and IG-88 are owned by Disney so they will probably still exist in some form in comics.

A friend pointed out there is always a chance we will get a Star Wars: Max line. For those of you who don’t know Max is Marvel mature readers imprint. Not that I am looking for hot nubile naked Twi’leks, but some dark and gritty combat heavy Star Wars titles, maybe centered around bounty hunters or the Sith, would be fun. Though we kind of got that in Legacy.

Image

A Darth Talon Max title would cause a disturbance in the force among many fan boys.

Also Disney and their subsidiary Marvel, understand how pertinacity Star Wars fandom can be. It is what drove Lucas out of the business. They know they have to come out with both blasters blazing and as such they should launch with some incredible offers. Still I am not too confident about that.

After he escaped from the belly of the sar'lac, Boba Fett flew to PDX and we use to hang out at the zoo.

After he escaped from the belly of the sar’lac, Boba Fett flew to PDX and we use to hang out at the zoo.

To kind of soften the blow Disney leaked that there is going to be a standalone Boba Fett, movie. If I was a little more jaded I would say they were trying to bribe us off.  Ok I will say it. It is a bribe. But oh such a cool and awesome bribe. I hate that my standards are so low that I nearly forgot that The House of Mouse plunged a vibro-dagger into Dark Horse’s back.

I see Dark Horse as the guy who worked for two decades faithfully for a company and got shown the door and a new younger brown noser took over his position. There is no such thing as corporate loyalty. The bottom line in corporate America is the bottom line. And as much as I personally treasure things like loyalty and dedication to excellence, the real world at least the one that resolves around Wall Street doesn’t work that way.

And no matter what, the change is going to happen. I can hold my breath until I am blue as a Wroian, but it’s not going to change a single thing. As the Star wars canon-verse is about to experience some pretty traumatic changes. I will hold on to my vision of a galaxy far far away. Even if it may become a very lonely place.

Here is my post about a pilgrimage I made to dark Horse HQ

https://davescorneroftheuniverse.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/searching-for-lady-portland-things-from-another-world

Mickey Mouse, Jedi Knight of Sith Lord?

https://davescorneroftheuniverse.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/mickey-mouse-jedi-knight-or-sith-lord/v

36 comments on “Dark Times in a Galaxy Far Far Away

  1. Mal Content
    January 9, 2014

    I love Boba Fett, but I don’t like the idea of him getting his own movie. We’ve seen many, many times before that a great supporting character does not make a great main character. The entire appeal of Boba Fett was his air of mystery. We could fill in the blanks with our own imagination, and that was better than what any writer could come up with.

    • davekheath
      January 9, 2014

      I am still kind of stoked. But that is most common response I am getting. i do have to admit that the Mandalorian Armor Trilogy was the only Star Wars books I gave up on, but I thought it was bad writting. .

  2. youvegotwildtalents
    January 11, 2014

    I look at this as a positive thing. Maybe all those horrible ‘super weapon of the week’ stories will be expunged along with the ‘how do we cripple Luke this week to make things challanging’ stories as well. And Abaloth…for the love JarJar, let there be no more Abaloth or Father or Sister or Brother.

  3. davekheath
    January 11, 2014

    I guess the test will be weather or not Marvel does a good job or not. I hate to say this but $$$ is a great incentive sometimes, still going through morning for Agent of the Empire and Legacy.

  4. talkingtom2day
    January 11, 2014

    Gotta say, I wasn’t surprised but am a bit nervous. I got turned off the novels when they killed Anakin Solo, but Legacy caught my attention pretty firmly!

    • davekheath
      January 12, 2014

      I love Legacy and now have to get all I don’t have before they run out of the print run and stop publishing them. I just got to keep repeating the serenity prayer.

  5. cherylgross
    January 20, 2014

    I think it will live on forever.

  6. jscott11894
    January 25, 2014

    Never having my hands on a Star Wars comic, I’d love to have just one. In response to a Boba movie.. Could be interesting so long as they stay away from the original movies altogether. They’d have to make it real nice like, too. Although I have a feeling they’ll write up a script within 6 months and call it done and they’ll end up animating it and put it in theaters where it makes a little over the production costs netting little to no profit. Maybe I’m just against Disney..

    • davekheath
      January 26, 2014

      I have to say I am crossing my fingers.

      For the comics check out Legacy or Agent of the Empire, if you are going to go for one.

      • jscott11894
        January 27, 2014

        Thanks for the suggestion! Just have to go find a shop that sells them. Not many stores around here have them anymore!

  7. whichwaynow101
    January 28, 2014

    Hi Dave
    Thanks for following. I’m a happy camper now you are joining me as I trip around by RV, plane, car and time machine to the past.
    Comments, compliments, critiques and wisecracks are most welcome.
    You have a great blog. “See” you again soon.
    Which Way Now 101 aka Carol

    • davekheath
      January 28, 2014

      If you ever get a chance check out Portland Or it is the most fun city I have ever lived in.

      • whichwaynow101
        January 28, 2014

        I have been there. I lived in Olympia for a while. It’s a great city.

  8. patriottex74
    February 4, 2014

    I will give Disney a chance. They can’t do any worse than George did with the prequels. Thanks for the comment on my blog, I appreciate it.

    • davekheath
      February 8, 2014

      I enjoyed, crosses fingers with new movies.

  9. marycontraryness
    February 9, 2014

    Of the six Star Wars movies, only 2.5 are really good already anyway: Star Wars, the Empire Strikes back and the first half of the Return of the Jedi. It all went downhill when they introduced those cute cuddly bears and when Princess Leila stopped mouthing off at Hans Solo and became just another love interest with no personality whatsoever. The edge, the darkness was gone and we were left with something essentially for children.

    So now that the franchise is in the hands of Disney, do we really expect something different? Will Disney put out a movie where a brother hits on his sister (even if unbeknownst to them both they are related)? Where one of the heroes, Hans Solo, is basically a selfish prick? Where Luke has to choose between two genuinely appealing options – his father and doing the right thing? Where Luke is essentially tortured for a very painfully long sequence? Do you really think Disney will put out a movies like that?

    • davekheath
      February 9, 2014

      No probably not.

      I do think that those aspects that mention were well captured in the comics Legacy though. The question in my mind is Marvel going to put out a title that is a worthy successor.

  10. julie
    February 24, 2014

    Thank you for visiting my blog, I like your too. We all need a bit of fqntasy in our lives.

  11. julie
    February 24, 2014

    Ooops!, I can spell fantasy, having a conversation and typing at the same time. I’m sure you’ve been there.

    • davekheath
      February 24, 2014

      LOL that is a word that I always misspell too. Glad you liked the post.

  12. Chad Bunch
    February 28, 2014

    Dave, I have loved every issue of the main Star Wars title since it came out. It is on the top of my pile every Wednesday when I get home from the shop. I am very nervous about the franchise moving back to Marvel, :(, but I look forward to another 10 months of Dark Horse Star Wars goodness.

    • davekheath
      February 28, 2014

      There have been some awesome story lines. We can only hope for the best with Marvel. I have also heard that Dark Horse will not be able to reprint old titles as of next year so I plan on getting caught up on as many graphic novels as I can.

      • Chad Bunch
        March 1, 2014

        Me as well. I have already spoken to the guys at my local shop about cutting back on my pull & hold so I can afford some graphic novels. They have offered to order anything they don’t have in stock to anyone who wants to purchase them. I got a lot of reading comin’ up.

      • davekheath
        March 1, 2014

        Fortunately I live about 25 miles from Dark Horse HQ and they have made some generous donations to the local libraries, but still got 10 months of catching up on them before they disappear.

  13. sazonconson
    March 3, 2014

    Reblogged this on sazonconson.

  14. Harold Knight
    March 5, 2014

    Thank you for following my blog. I look forward to reading yours.

  15. ghostof82
    March 9, 2014

    I must admit to fond memories of the old Marvel Star Wars comics, back when I was in my teens. Of course comics have changed much, and grown more adult since then. I’m not familiar with any Dark Horse Star Wars comics, other than glancing through them in bookshops over the years.

    Is there anything to stop Marvel using/hiring any of the Dark Horse creative team?

    There is also the intriguing possibility of the Marvel material linking/setting up the new films, as they are all under the single Disney umbrella. I can understand fans of the Dark Horse books being cautious though, after all if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.

    • davekheath
      March 9, 2014

      I think some of the writers have been approached but I am not sue. I will need to do some more research.

      I am sure that they will do some movie tie in. Honestly the marvel comic tie in was the best thing about Iron Man III.I am sure they will keep also keep up on other periods of SW such as KoTOR and Clone Wars.

      I maen I would love to write a blog saying what a good job Marvel is doing, but time will tell.

  16. Maxi
    March 22, 2014

    Hi Dave … have never read comics and don’t go to movies any more buuuut…

    Your enthusiasm takes me away. And your knowledge.

    How sad that it’s always about the money.

    Thank you for the follow, will get here when I can. I’m setting up and online company and sooo busy.

    May 2014 be the best year ever for you and all those you love.

    blessings ~ maxi

    • davekheath
      March 22, 2014

      Thank you and good luck on your endeavors.

  17. Carl D'Agostino
    March 22, 2014

    I thought Babylon 5 best of the genre. Thanks visit my blog. I will certainly follow here.

    • davekheath
      March 23, 2014

      My pleasure and yes differently had its high points.

  18. mrscantastic
    March 26, 2014

    Hello there, just wanted to say I really enjoyed reading your blog. Quite recent to blogging and just wrote something on Star Wars my self. Any tips you can give to an inspired creative writing Star Wars fan?

    • davekheath
      March 26, 2014

      I will say that Star wars is pretty popular know my most popular stuff is all based on Star wars.

      The best advice I can give is write about what you like and check out what others write on the subjects that are your passions.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
